Busman’s Holiday. In the footsteps of a Viking Saint. Day 11

Are radio journalists of a certain age the same the world over ?

I was stomping down a forest track moaning to myself about the price of beer here when , uniquely for that day,  I heard a car behind me

And darn me if it wasn’t a car from Swedish national radio complete with a satellite dish to die for.

Out jumped the reporter ..and it was like looking in a mirror.  He had heard I was on the road and wanted to interview me.  Apparently my surname clinched the idea for his editor

It was like watching myself at work.  He swore and moaned when his recording device played up and even put the microphone close to the ground as he walked along to get the sound of footsteps…Trick number 1 in the Bob Walker sound effects repertoire

Unlike me though he appears to have a sound future in the industry,

He even recorded 10 mins like I do probably in the certain knowledge he can only use a fraction.  Like I do

Anyway I can now add Swedish Radio to BBC Radio 4. RTE. NPR the World Service and BBC Five bloody Live

image

2 thoughts on “Busman’s Holiday. In the footsteps of a Viking Saint. Day 11

Leave a Reply

