Missing a moose. Day 28 in the footsteps of a Viking Saint. #Norway #Sweden

Apparently there are some 400,000 moose (or elk) in Sweden.

And I dunno how many more in Norway but you can bet it’s not an insignificant number

But you could have fooled me.

Over the last month people have repeatedly told me that it’s just a matter of time before I encounter one of the antlered hordes

“Oh I saw five of them in the woods at the bottom of the garden”

“There’s a huge one who walks down the track outside the house every evening”

‘There’s a whole family of them who have a picnic on my patio ever night”

I made that last one up.

But the point is , I’ve been told it would be impossible NOT to see a moose in Sweden.  Well I crossed the country from East coast to the Norway border with nary a sight.

Oh , I saw moose crap. Piles and piles of it.  And hoof prints. Hundreds of ’em.
I got so good at recognising the signs I could have passed my Scout Tracker badge with a double first

Actually on reflection I did see a moose.  Probably a few score.  It’s just that the parts I saw didn’t amount to a single joined up moose

Imagine coming across this after a long walk in the dark forest

image

That’s a jaw bone

j

image

Glosa is famous for its stone age rock carvings

It also doubles as an education centre for the ancient art of moose hunting

Cabins are decked out in the way they think ancient  hunters would have stored various moose parts

o

image

I’ve no idea how schoolkids feel about visiting this place.

But it gave me nightmares

5 thoughts on “Missing a moose. Day 28 in the footsteps of a Viking Saint. #Norway #Sweden

  1. I love reading your posts. They are so good. This one has had me spinning around nearly in a bid to work out how that can be a Moose jawbone. I’m going to have to educate myself on moose anatomy. Those hooves though are beyond creepy.

    Thank you for another great post. I’m now off to work out moose anatomy and also whether the spirit of Olav can live on in pilgrims… How’s the knee? 😉

    1. Thank you. Kind of you to see. Knee has improved but I appear to have a strange swelling on my right leg near ankle….Oh well..only 3,days left. But today it’s raining

      1. You’ll be acclimatised with the rain. It must be getting very emotional for you now. The swelling will disappear (ice packs on the flight home!) but the memories of this walk will stay with you forever! 🙂

  2. Tom

    Hi Bob. Been following your blog and enjoying your adventures. I’ll try and persuade Ade to do a moose themed quiz on your return……..

Leave a Reply

